Monday, March 04, 2013

Say NO to Secret Courts

Dear Sir, We are writing to urge all MPs to do the right thing by voting against Part II of the Justice and Security Bill when it has its Report stage in the Commons today. The Justice and Security Bill runs a coach and horses through fair trial guarantees which have been part of our country's constitution since the Civil War and which were first enshrined in the Magna Carta. The secret court measures contained in the Bill could even apply to habeas corpus proceedings. The stakes for our country could not be higher. The "War on Terror" led to many mistakes: liberty was sacrificed in the name of security. This led directly to British agents facilitating kidnap and torture such as the cases of Binyam Mohammed and Abdul-Hakim Belhaj. For those who are victims of such crimes to be shut out of the trials of their own claims for damages runs totally contrary to any notion of justice. As the Special Advocates reiterated last week, the case for this Bill has not been made. The Joint Committee on Human Rights reported on 28th February 2013 that the government has failed to meet its requirements to make "Closed Material Procedures" less unfair. We call on all MPs now to act before it is too late, and they become complicit in irrevocable damage to our constitution. This issue goes beyond party politics. However, as Liberal Democrats the protection of civil liberties is of crucial importance. We are looking to Nick Clegg to lead the Liberal Democrat MPs in opposition to the Bill. Opposition to Part II is what liberal democracy demands of us. Secret courts must not form any part of the legacy of a government in which Liberal Democrats have a role. Yours faithfully, 1. Jo Shaw, Member of Liberal Democrat Federal Executive, London 2. Martin Tod, Member of Liberal Democrat Federal Executive, Winchester 3. Sarah Ludford MEP 4. David Howarth, Cambridge 5. Lord Strasburger 6. Professor Philippe Sands QC, Camden 7. Sandra Gidley, Romsey 8. Robin Meltzer, Prospective Parliamentary Candidate, Richmond 9. Elaine Bagshaw, Federal Executive member, London 10. Daisy Cooper, Federal Executive member 11. Mark Pack, Federal Policy Committee member 12. Gareth Epps, Federal Policy Committee, Social Liberal Forum co-chair 13. Benjamin Mathis, Hackney 14. Sally Hooker, Greenwich 15. Tracy Connell, Newcastle, Regional Officer 16. Christina Shaw, Leeds NW 17. David Shaw, Leeds NW 18. Matt Whayman, Runnymede and Weybridge 19. Chris Richards, Camden 20. John L Oakes, London N6 21. Paula Keaveney, Liverpool, Police and Crime Commissioner candidate, Merseyside 22. Alix Mortimer, Haringey 23. Tom Polak - Campaigns Secretary Nottingham Liberal Youth 24. Rob Knight, Haringey 25. Caron Lindsay, Member of Liberal Democrat Federal Executive, Livingston 26. Charlotte Henry, Liberal Reform, Barnet 27. Gemma Roulston, membership secretary, LDDA 28. Lady Ellen Dahrendorf, London NW3 29. Ruth Edmonds, Oxford 30. Nick Thornsby, Liberal Reform, Rochdale 31. Geoff Hinchliffe, Shipdham 32. Peter Lloyd, Birmingham 33. Councillor Jonathan Bloch 34. Mark Platt, Westminster & City of London party 35. Tom Barney 36. Roger Crouch, Twickenham 37. Jennifer Liddle, Cambridgeshire 38. Kirsten de Keyser, Camden 39. Andrew Brown, Bristol 40. Simon McGrath, Chair, Merton Liberal Democrats, Liberal Reform 41. Scott Walker, Nottingham 42. John Faulkner, Guildford 43. Kat Dadswell, Liverpool 44. Cllr James Baker, Calderdale Liberal Democrats. 45. Emily Fieran-Reed, Islington 46. Cllr Alaric Rose, Cherwell District Council 47. David Wright, Harlow 48. Nick Barlow, Colchester 49. Tony Miller, President, Ealing Liberal Democrats 50. Phil Stevens Chair Liberal Democrat Disability Association 51. Mrs Janet King, Chair, Bromsgrove Liberal Democrats 52. Corry Cashman, Leighton Buzzard 53. Prof. Denis Mollison, Musselburgh 54. Cllr Richard Cheney, Lib Dem Group Leader, Stratford DC 55. Robert Leslie, Treasurer, Banffshire & Buchan Coast Liberal Democrats 56. Hannah Bettsworth, Edinburgh South 57. Simon P. Hughes, Epping Forest, Social Liberal Forum 58. Richard Broadbent, Sutton 59. Jonathan Price, London SE24 60. Chris Smart, Chester 61. Fionn O'Donovan, Oxford 62. Richard Lowe 63. Prateek Buch 64. Charles Scanlan, London NW8 65. Chris Nelson, Kettering & Wellingborough 66. Rev Simon Wilson, Broadland 67. Peter Brooks 68. Neville Farmer 69. Cllr Janet Battye, Liberal Democrat Leader, Calderdale MBC 70. Anthony Fairclough, London Region Exec & Merton Borough 71. Jonathan Calder 72. David Abrahams, Camden 73. Richard Morris, Richmond and Twickenham 74. Alex Marsh, Bristol 75. Geoff Payne, Hertfordshire 76. Peter Reisdorf, West Kirby 77. Bridget Fox, Islington 78. Paul Wild, Walsall 79. Lisa Smart, Hazel Grove 80. Ros Gordon, Hampshire 81. Patrick Hadfield, Edinburgh 82. Lancelot Casely-Hayford, Liberal Youth Campaigns Officer 83. Reece Edmends - Liberal Youth Non-Portfolio Officer 84. Timothy Oliver, Hull 85. Ellis R Palmer, Secretary of the Univeristy of Birmingham Liberal Democrats 86. Robert Pitt, Secretary, Leeds Liberal Youth 87. Kavya Kaushik, Liberal Youth co-Chair 88. Joe Donnelly, Chair of Durham University Liberal Democrats 89. Kevin McNamara, President of University of Kent Liberal Democrats 90. Sam Fisk, Liberal Youth co-Chair 91. Jezz Palmer, Youth and Student Rep, Winchester 92. Conor McKenzie, Harrogate, Liberal Youth International Officer 93. Ashley Wilkes - President of Lancaster University Liberal Democrats 94. Jonathan Lancaster, York Outer 95. Alexander J. Harding Last, Ipswich 96. Will Fielding, Hull and Hessle Liberal Youth Officer 97. Harry Matthews, Sheffield 98. Alex Barry, Norwich 99. Stuart Wheatcroft, Chair, West Midlands Liberal Youth 100. James Higgin, Aberdeen 101. Emma Sandrey, Cardiff Central 102. Samuel Barratt 103. Cllr Mathew Hulbert, Barwell, Leicestershire 104. Dr Maria Pretzler, Swansea & Gower 105. Katrin McClure, East Yorks 106. Cllr Keith Moffitt, Leader, Liberal Democrats, Camden 107. Conor McGovern-Paul, Kingston-upon-Thames 108. Marek Lipinski, Ealing 109. Jacquie Bell, Dunbar, Scotland 110. Brian James Woodcraft,Eltham, London 111. Jean Evans, Chester 112. Jason Lower, Tonbridge and Malling 113. Cllr Terry Stacy, Leader, Islington Liberal Democrats 114. Adam Bernard, Cambridge 115. Chris Caswill, Wiltshire 116. Ed Fordham, Camden Read more: Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

No comments: